Life lesson

Jeezy and I have decided that our time in Asia will come to an end at the end of this school year. It is hard to believe that we will be moving back to North America.

When I left my job in Canada, I was angry. I remember telling everyone, “I AM  MOVING TO ASIA AND NEVER MOVING BACK!”  I did not receive much encouragement and I left holding onto a lot of guilt. Goodbyes were especially hard when no one seemed happy or proud of my decision to teach abroad. It was hard but I can’t imagine spending those 8 years any other way.

Looking back now,  I can see that I wasn’t meant to be in Canada at that point in my life but I think I am now. I know that if we move back, it doesn’t need to be forever and that makes the move so much easier. I have notebooks full of lessons that I have learned along the way (that’s for another post) but the one that stands above all the other is:

“This is my life, I am the only one who gets to choose how I live it.”

It’s mine

It’s not yours

It’s mine like yours is yours

Parents have theirs and their parents had theirs

and you have yours

I’ll live mine and you live yours

      –

No regret

No guilt

No shame

No remorse

        –

Did you hear me

NO GUILT

None

Nada

Zilch

      –

It’s mine

It’s not yours

I’ll live mine

you live yours

        –

We are free

11 thoughts on “Life lesson

  1. I’m proud of you for forging your own path…selfishly I wish that path was to stay in Asia at least another year (hey, I just came back!), but I am glad you and Jeezy made the right decision for you and your little family. And you know I’ll come visit! 🙂

  2. We all have to make our own choices and sometimes parents forget that they raised a child who has her own mind. Now that you have a little one, choices become more difficult as your decisions affect more than you. I can’t imagine picking up and moving across the world, but I wish I had. You will do great where you go.

    • You are so right, Elsie! I think that writing down my thoughts and feelings now will help me to better support my daughters choices as she gets older. It is definitely that little one that is making want to move back to North America, funny how they can change your path so much.

  3. Sounds like you’ve grown a lot in those 8 years. I often chuckle when we think we have things “all figured out” when, in reality, we NEVER know what each day holds for us. All we can ever do is keep doing our own personal best and Live our Life! Good for you!

  4. This is such an important lesson to remember, especially when setting limits on relationships gets hard or are challenged by the other person/people. I feel guilt (stupid catholic guilt!!!) all the time for the smallest of things (sometimes the reason doesn’t even exist – I made it up – and I feel bad about it, ugh!), and then I try to take a deep breath and figure out all the possible reasons why I might feel guilty and if it’s the least bit valid towards the decision I’m making. It’s like a math equation. But if we gave in to the pressures other people put on us, and never set limits in our relationships, we’d never get to be ourselves, with our own decisions, our own path. The power in owning a decision!! It fuels us!! I love this post. I’m so glad you are holding strong onto your choices. You’re such an inspiration and an example.

    Also depending on where you’re at in the country we’ll have to plan a visit! 🙂

    • Stupid Catholic guilt! I am glad that I am not the only person to attribute this to the Catholic indoctrination! What a relief. What did they do to us in those Catholic Schools?
      It is so interesting to hear how you go through decision making step by step, thanks for sharing it. I think it is really good to know what steps to take when you have an important decision to make or when you are feeling pressured by others. In the heat of the moment it can be hard to think clearly but if you can mindfully bring yourself back to your little decision making equation, it can really make things easier. I wish I had those steps when I moved away, I think it would have been more effective than yelling at everyone and getting on a plan, haha! I am glad that I have gotten better at this.
      Oh my goodness, breathing is so important. Taking time to breathe really helps me to see things more clearly. Something so simple yet so very powerful. I definitely need to work on openly setting limits in relationships rather than setting secret limits. One step at a time though.

      Isn’t it great to be able to be ourselves with our own paths? I love the life I have chosen for myself and I hope you do too!

      I will definitely let you know where we end up, we would love to have you visit!
      Currently all of North America is up for grabs!

Leave a Reply

