Campfires

12788140_750725240333_1303293490_n

I love fires.

One small spark

embers expanding to flames

crickle crackling

the kindling twigs

disintegrating into ash

as the flames catch the logs

resting criss crossed

one atop the other

I love the smoke

billowing

from one direction

white rabbit

white rabbit

to the other

moving your chair

around the fire

to catch the heat

radiating from the coals

I love finding the perfect stick

the one with the pointed end

able to move the shrinking the sticks

into the perfect position

searching

scouring

the forest floor

for dry logs

not the 5 minute kind

or the all nighter log

but the hour long

leave on the coal

drink a beer

kind of log

I love as the pile dwindles

conveniently yawns become more consistent

bed time calls your name.

The flames fade

the embers change

from to red

to orange

to black

I hate leaving the fire

but

with the glowing heat

resonating on my clothes

I drift

dreams billowing

through the night

7 thoughts on “Campfires

  1. Your precise and descriptive wording show your love for fires. Reading this made me excited for summers by the lake.

Leave a Reply

