Inspired Poetry

I really love William Carlos Williams poem, The Red Wheelbarrow. If you haven't had a chance to enjoy it, have a read.
The Red Wheelbarrow
so much depends
upon

a red wheel
barrow

glazed with rain
water

beside the white
chickens.

Here are a few poems I wrote inspired by The Red Wheelbarrow.

The Worm Box
So much depends
upon

a wooden worm
box

filled with moist
soil

and the hands of
young children

The Dusty Duvet

So little depends
upon

the winter down
duvet

infested with dusty
allergens

tickling the nose 
of Jeezy.

The Sharpened Pencil
So much depends 
upon

a sharpened 
pencil

manipulated by ideas
of children 

moving across
the page 




10 thoughts on “Inspired Poetry

  1. I too love WCW and especially appreciate how The Worm Box and The Sharpened Pencil could be said to also take the shape of their topic, like some say the original poem does.

  2. Wow, I’ve met a new poet (two in fact) Thank you for introducing Williams to me. I love his red wheelbarrow poem and your clever takes on it. I, too, may use him in my class next month. Thanks!

  3. LOVE William Carlos Williams! LOVE your imitations of his beautiful poems. Your images of the worm box, duvet and sharpened pencil remind us of the importance of the small things in our lives. You’ve inspired me to use Williams poems in my classroom once again 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

