Forgetfulness

“Ms. Taggart you said we would have a class meeting about my little problem last week and you forgot.”

Why is it that six year olds can remember every single thing you say but never remember to put a full stop at the end of a sentence?

After apologizing to my little friend and reminding her that Ms. Taggart is a little bit forgetful. She politely gave me a way to solve my forgetfulness. “I know how to help you,” she said. “All you need is a to do list. Here I will make one for you.” Away she flew writing my to do list on the whiteboard.

If only it was that easy.

I am constantly coming up with new strategies to help combat my forgetfulness. Remembering my house keys has always been a big problem for me. You would be amazed at the number of windows I have crawled through to gain entrance to various homes. I started carrying my house keys in my wallet. I figured that since my wallet is bigger than keys and  I need my wallet to get on the bus and get to work, there is no way I would leave my wallet at home.

On Monday morning I left home, hand in hand with my man. After a quick a peck on the cheek, he headed into the subway station and I continued on to the bus stop.  As I saw the bus in the distance, I reached into my bag to grab my wallet. It wasn’t there. As I emptied the contents of my bag on the sidewalk, the image of my wallet sitting on the kitchen table flashed before my eyes and a few curse words slipped out of my mouth.

I quickly grabbed my phone to call Jeezy, hoping to catch him before he boarded the train. I could have him throw me his keys over the turnstile. No answer.

I wondered if we left the door unlocked. No, I jiggled the handle to check it was locked as we left in the morning.

I wondered how long it will take me to walk to work. Too long.

I stood on the side of the road thinking how I was going to get myself to work.

I ride the same bus at around the same time every day.  Although we don’t speak the same language, I see the same people each day. I decided to be brave and try to explain to my bus mates what had happened.  To my surprise they understood my charades and simple words and before I knew it three people were scrounging in their change purses to find me their spare change.

Perhaps my solution to forgetting my keys wasn’t the best, what do you do to combat your forgetfulness?

9 thoughts on “Forgetfulness

  1. There seem to be more and more things to have to remember! I find that getting into habits definitely helps. I also started bullet journaling this year. I have a bullet journal for home and one for work where I write down things I need to do. Then I have everything there and in one place and even mostly organized. Still, I know the feeling of forgetting and feeling not quite right. It’s so great that the other bus riders helped you out! What a great community.

  2. I don’t have any great advice, but I really loved your opening. Those kiddos sure can do our jobs for us, can’t they? Too bad they can’t take care of themselves as well as they can keep up with us! Glad you made it to school!

  3. I love your solution to forgetting your keys and wallet. You made new friends, and you got a lesson in the kindness and helpfulness of the world. Beautiful!

  4. Just when I began to panic for you, the kindness of your fellow travelers came through. My solution to losing keys is to have many copies made. The trick, I suppose, is finding those keys!

  5. That sounds like a tough start to your day! I try to keep my keys in the same place so I know where they are. I’m a big fan of post-it notes to help me remember. If it’s really important I write a note on the palm of my hand- the original Palm pilot

  6. Your story resonated with me as tonight I drove to the grocery store singing a silly song about b-beakpows! B-beakpows was my brilliant way to remember that I needed butter, bananas, eggs, apples, kashi bars, potatos, onions, and wine. And now that I wrote this, darn it, I realize that I forgot the eggs! Grrr!!! Perhaps not so brilliant after all. I’m glad that the kindness of semi-strangers came through for you. Thanks for sharing!

  7. You are always forgetting your keys! 🙂 I’m glad you found kindness from others this morning. I agree with Valerie. Putting them in the same place everyday helps. Also, packing your bag the night before helps, too. That’s what I do when I want to make sure I don’t forget something.

  8. Wow! I love this story. Sorry about the keys and the not-so-smooth start to your morning. It sounds like you made a few friends from the experience. Tip: Leave your keys in exactly the same spot everyday. Collect them from this spot in the morning and return them to this spot at the end of a busy day of work or errands. Hope this helps. Thanks for sharing this engaging story. I hope you still had a great day.

Leave a Reply

