Twisting and Turning

It is 12:30am

I sit on a bus

somewhere

in the countryside

of Myanmar

twisting and turning

in the darkness of the night.

I shiver

stretching

the thin fleece blanket

from one toe to the other

slouching

reaching that blanket to the tip of my nose.

Failing.

A discarded blanket

spotted

lumped

on the neighbouring chair

glancing up the aisle

I move in

for the steal

full coverage at last.

It is 2:30am

I sleep on a bus

somewhere

in the countryside

nearing

Inle Lake, Myanmar

twisting and turning

in the darkness of the early morning.

I wake

to the feeling

of my bladder expanding

pressure building

ready to burst

stretching

the elastic waist

of my now too tight

yoga pants

Moving

side to side

searching

for the perfect position.

It is 3:30am

I run from the bus

somewhere outside

Inle Lake, Myanmar

twisting and turning

down the path

in the starlit sky

I sigh

relieving myself

in a ceramic hole

at the side of the road

air drying

in the cool breeze

watching the stars twinkle

in the perfectly clear sky

rushing back

to the bus

honking

preparing

to depart.

It is 4:30am

I stand inside a hotel

somewhere

in Inle Lake, Myanmar

twisting and turning

my neck

in the florescent lit lobby

searching

for someone

to find us a room.

Foreigners

everywhere

bundled in blankets

asleep

in corners

with no rooms available

I spread out a straw mat

roll up a sweater

and ask for a blanket.

It is 4:35am

I lie on a straw mat

I snore

somewhere

in a hotel lobby

in Inle Lake, Myanmar.

11010962_705805524803_5539427087407747465_n

5 thoughts on “Twisting and Turning

  1. Ow, my back hurts from the twisting and turning of finding a comfortable position to sleep. Love that you have the adventurous spirit to explore the world. I want to explore, but do it in far more comfort. I am looking forward to meeting up in this virtual world once again.

  2. You have captured some of the joys and struggles of travel. What a hereat way to start of month of slicing which will also have some joys and struggles.

Leave a Reply

