Flying Food

As I stroll down the crowded supermarket aisle revisiting my detailed shopping list written in my head.

apples

quinoa

beer

yoghurt

“AHHHHHHHHHH! Bang, Crash, Bang, Crash!”

A boy comes roaring down the aisle, weaving between customers with two large umbrellas in hand, banging the floor and shelves around him.

I take a deep breath and think ‘I am sure his parents will deal with that momentarily.’ I watch him as he waves his umbrella swords at the shelved tofu victims. My jaw drops and the boxes of tofu begin to fly. I looked around searching for embarrassed parents coming down the aisle. None were in sight. I wheeled my cart right up to the boy and his swords and said firmly, “Pick those up right now!” His eyes shoot to the floor and he freezes. I wait and wait. I try again, slightly louder, “You will pick those up right now!” Still no movement. He may not have understood English but there was no mistaking my tone.

He slowly began moving the tofu on the shelf back into a neater position, still leaving boxes on the floor. I point to the boxes on the floor and say harshly, “And those ones!” With a frown on his face he begins to pick up the containers, slowly, unbelievably slowly. I am sure he figured I wouldn’t wait this long for him to sort out his mess. He soon found out that he was terribly mistaken. I have patience, especially when it comes to waiting for children to make the right choice.

Leave a Reply

