Friendly Flyover

Plane delays are inconvenient, frustrating and exhausting. I have spent far too many hours wandering aimlessly around various airports, stretching out on the uncomfortable airport chairs trying to catch a few hours sleep as I wait for my rescheduled flight to board.

I received a phone call last night from my best friend in Shanghai, Jennifer, telling me that she was stuck in Hong Kong overnight.  I could empathize with how she was feeling, but that empathy quickly turned into excitement. She was stuck in Hong Kong and they were putting her in a hotel, not too far from my home! We immediately made plans for a visit in the morning. I knew she was disappointed to be losing a day in Nepal but her delay benefited me!

Jennifer made her way to our house in the morning and we attempted to go for a little walk but the uncooperative weather had other plans for us. Dodging raindrops, we made our way back to the maze of malls that surrounds my apartment and bought a few necessities to make enchiladas for lunch.  I whipped up the enchiladas (recipe here, SO GOOD) and put them in the oven to bake. Meanwhile, Jennifer setup our favourite game, Settlers of Catan. Jeezy, Jennifer and I swapped resources, built settlements, shared stories and snacked on enchiladas as the clock ticked by. As always Jennifer won, despite Jeezy and my efforts to block her at every turn. The time flew by and before I knew it, I was hugging her goodbye. 

Although the visit was short, it made Jeezy and I feel like she lived just around the corner from us again, just popping in in for a little visit. Plane delays are a nuisance but I was secretly happy about this one. 

5 thoughts on “Friendly Flyover

  1. I love this post! And I love that I got to see you and Jeezy! Thanks for changing your plans around to accommodate for my unexpected stopover. I had a great time hanging out, chowing down on your yummy food, and beating you in Settlers (ha!). Love you Shags!

  2. What a great day. Bad news for jennifer turned into a memorable day for all three of you. Whe you are old and grey, you will be able to turn t each other and say, “Remember that time Jennifer got stuck in Hong Kong.”

  3. That’s so much fun! Narita isn’t really convenient to me (or anything in or near Tokyo), but I would be thrilled if a friend got stuck there and I got to entertain them. Thanks for sharing such a happy story. I’m jealous that you had a visitor, and also jealous that your friend is going to Nepal. I hope she has a great trip!

  4. What a great opportunity to catch up with your friend! Even though Jennifer lost a day in Nepal, I’m sure she enjoyed time with you, especially when the other option was an additional ten hours of travel.

Leave a Reply

