In the dark of the night

In the dark of the night,

eyes closed,

asleep,

I speak.

Sometimes mumbles, 

at times words,

but mostly 

full sentences.

In the dark of the night,

eyes open, 

Jeezy smiles. 

Sometimes

he listens silently,

at times he giggles

but mostly

he tries

asking me questions. 

In the dark of the night,

last night,

eyes closed,

I sat

straight as a mountain

arms out

investigating 

the pillow

held in my hands. 

In the dark of the night,

last night,

eyes open,

Jeezy questioned

my act of 

turning the pillow

over and over

with a 

disgusted look

upon my face. 

In the dark of the night,

last night,

eyes closed,

I answered. 

“Bugs! 

Bugs are coming out”

as the pillow 

flew 

like a fly 

across the room

and landed 

on the floor. 

In the dark of the night,

last night,

eyes open,

Jeezy laughed. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “In the dark of the night

  1. I really, really liked this. I’ve got to read it a couple more times to know why, exactly. But I really liked it!

  2. When Jeezy tries ask questions while I am sleep talking, I usually wake up and give him the angriest look, and turn over to go back to sleep! It is rare he actually gets me to answer.

  3. Sounds like quite an adventure. I’m sure there are many more stories that are untold. Enjoyed that Jeezy tries to ask you questions. Love how you structured this!

Leave a Reply

