Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 8.34.08 PM

Beneath the ripples,

I sail.

Watching closely,

My flippers sway

With the currents of the ocean.

Resting my rough shell,

Cautiously,

Between

The protection of the vibrant coral.

Vigilant.

 On guard.

Alert.

Prepared.

Danger spotted.

An unfamiliar creature

Approaches.

Looming.

Swimming

Unnaturally.

Flippers flailing,

Eyes popping,

A cloud of bubbles

Surrounding.

A shell shining,

Like the silver cans

Dropped from above.

Could it be

A malnourished sea lion,

Or a pasty,

Young shark

With  frog-like legs?

Disconcerted

but curious.

Amused.

It freezes.

Eye to eye

 We stare.

I wonder.

I worry.

I slowly move away,

Two flippers,

Followed by

The others.

Gliding.

Leaving the beast

Far behind.

Peeking back,

Enjoying

The last glance

Of the humorous pale creature.

Distance gaining.

Disappearing.

Beneath the ripples,

I sail.

Watching closely,

My flippers sway

With the currents of the ocean.

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 8.33.48 PM Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 8.35.15 PM

One thought on “

  1. I love that you have fallen in love with diving. It’s such a inspiring experience, being beneath the ocean, silently swimming with the beautiful and unique creatures that inhabit that underwater oasis.
    Your poem was full of imagery, and I felt like I was right there with you. Well done!

Leave a Reply

