The Little Things

Image

Today was such a remarkable day in our K1 class today. My amazingly, talented three and four year olds were given the opportunity to share all of their artwork, reflections and of course their learning throughout our Unit of Inquiry. We were inquiring into how people express themselves using different forms of Art. Over the weekend, I spent hours upon hours sticky tacking paintings, gluing photos, straightening vases, labeling sculptures and editing videos. At midnight on Sunday crawled into bed with my head spinning with last minute things to do in the morning to make sure that their day was perfect. Before dozing off to dreamland I had a lot of fears about parents reactions and impressions. Monday morning came too soon but I dragged myself to the bus stop and headed off to school to finish off those last minute touches.

As the first group arrived, I took a deep breath and hoped for the best.  To my surprise the day was far above my expectations. The children arrived eagerly to show off their amazing creations and their parents were in awe. To be honest the day went by far too fast. It was a whirlwind of a day, spent asking questions, answering questions and encouraging children.

At the end of the day I was a mixture of emotions. I was proud of my little children, happy to see the pride in their parents eyes, yet sad that the day was over and disappointed that I couldn’t leave the classroom the way it looked for the rest of the week.

As I left school with the sun still shining in the sky, I decided to walk home rather than wait for the bus. I have the most beautiful walk home possible. It begins with a windy path through the forest. I am surrounded by palm trees as a little creek trickles through. Butterflies flutter around me and birds dance in the leaves beside me.

Image

After I am relaxed by nature,  I am reminded of the amazing public transportation that is available here. I constantly see more buses than cars as I cross the road.  I make my way to a community footpath, where every other person is an elderly man or woman taking a stroll with their grandchild. For me, there is nothing more inspiring than an active elderly person. As I near my apartment building I pass a bustling market, where I am constantly amazed by the price of their fresh fruits and vegetables. After purchasing a cauliflower, a giant bag of Kale, a box of mulberries, 3 giant juicy oranges and a bag of new potatoes for about 35 Hong Kong Dollars (4.50 USD) I enter my apartment complex where I am greeted personally by all of the (unnecessary) security guards. By the time I reach the 51st floor of my building I open the door to a hug from my boyfriend, my exhaustion had changed to an appreciation for the little things in life.

8 thoughts on “The Little Things

  1. Shaggers…I’m so glad that you had such an amazing time at your celebration! I know how stressed you were this weekend when you were getting ready for it all. You are an amazing teacher, and your students are lucky to have you! I am a bit jealous of your walk home. I might just need to move to HK after all! 🙂
    Love you!
    ‘ennif’

    • Thanks ‘ennif! I certainly was stressed but I got through it without any break downs. I think because I was so excited to share the amazing art pieces, I wanted to get it done! If only I was as excited to get these online portfolios caught up 😛
      As for moving to HK, you better!!!

  2. What a success! This is something your students will always remember…and hopefully they will have their artwork saved. Your walk home sounds lovely. What a great way to end a day…walking through nature…so peaceful. I think I need to put Hong Kong on my places to visit list. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

    • You certainly do need to put Hong Kong on your list. I have lived in 4 different countries now and it is by far my favourite!

    • I think today’s post will have to be some sharing of their artwork. I think at 3 years old their creativity is in it’s purest form. It is beautiful. They were so proud!

  3. What an excellent, sweet day you had! Thank you for sharing your day with us! I especially enjoyed the picture of the lush, green forest. Breathtaking!

Leave a Reply

