I am Me!


I am a puzzle.

My pieces are made of different shapes and sizes.

They are…
3 % sister
5% competition
3% daughter
5% love
10% Granddaughter
19.5% smiles
9% friend
6% encourager
8% reader
9% teacher
0.5 % writer
6% yogi
9% cook
7.5% disorganized
And when you put the pieces together
Can’t you see that I am 100% me!

Thanks to my best friend and encourager, I attended the most amazing conference last weekend. It focused on the art of literacy in the classroom. I left the conference feeling like I was a confident writer, ready to inspire my children to feel the same.  We were asked to try this percentage poem in Michael Sallinger and Sara Holbrook’s workshop, I love it!

5 thoughts on “

  1. Love thepoem! What a great format – whether for writing/math/personal history.
    Thanks so much for your lovely words. Teaching is our core for sure.

    • I was just introduced to this format! I teach 3 year olds so they might need some help with the addition but I think we could definitely use this format as a shared writing activity! I can’t wait to try it!

  2. Awww Shaggers! I love your poem! It’s so true…you are at least 19.5% smiles. 🙂 Sorry I forgot to remind you about the start of the SOL challenge, but I’m glad you’re here now, and I’m looking forward to reading many more of your slices! Love you!
    ~Jennifer

Leave a Reply

