“I apreeshate you!”…

“I apreeshate you!”

Beep! Beep! Beep! Bam. This morning, like most, my sleepy-self disagreed with my alarm clock.  Unfortunately, so did the rest of my morning. Somehow my oatmeal found itself in the microwave without any liquid, the hot water decided it was happier on the counter-top rather than my mug and my toothbrush battery decided to die ten seconds into my morning brush. What a great way to start the day! Today is the day that my school is being evaluated, and hopefully authorized, as an IB school.  I needed this day to turn around.  When I stepped outside the elevator, of course it was raining. ‘Could it get any worse?’, I thought. I soon found out that, ye! Yes it could. Half way to school, I realized that my lunch forgot to put itself in my backpack.  Back to the apartment I pedaled! I needed to put a stop to the snowball effect that was overtaking my morning. Finally ,I arrived at school damp, cold and grouchy!  After scurrying around the classroom finishing last minute preparations for our special visitors my students started to arrive. I took a deep breath hoping this very bad day would not turn into a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. In walked a little boy with an envelope in his hands. “This is for you, Ms. Shannon,” He said with a smile and a twinkle in his eye. As I opened the note, I realized that a smile had already formed on my face. As I read the words “Dear Ms. Shannon, I apreeshate you.” I knew that my very bad morning was just that, a morning! With a hug and a beaming smile, I was ready to have an amazing day of fun-filled learning with my incredibly caring Kindergartners.  Thanks to my little munchkin, I did!

4 thoughts on ““I apreeshate you!”…

  1. It is the simple acts that keep us going! Glad to know that your day turned around. With all the other stressers in the world of education, the students help us keep perspective! Good luck with the eval.

  2. Isn’t it amazing what a few words can do for an entire day. I loved the way this story smoothly rolled along until the envelope appeared. Then the action went into slow motion (as it should). Fun start to the challenge.

  3. Awww….I appreshate you, too Shannon! You have cultivated such a sweet community in your classroom where everyone lifts each other up. I’m so glad you got some lifting up when you were down! I loved the way you described your morning…I’ve been there, too and kept saying “Yep, that’s happened before…yep, that, too!” while reading your post! Hope you have an absolutely wonderful, positively perfect, especially terrific day today! 🙂

  4. Aaaah. What a precious moment to happen at just the right time. I hope the rest of your day was good and that your school received a n A+ evaluation.

    Looking forward to more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

